Brevity vs Astalty: NDIS Software for Growing Teams

Rostering & Workforce · 9 min read

Brevity vs Astalty: Which NDIS Software Fits Your Growing Team?

Brevity, BondiByte and Astalty compared for a growing NDIS provider: rostering, audit readiness, SIL, support coordination, and what each costs for a team of 10.

Watch the video

Growing an NDIS provider changes what the roster costs you. With five staff, the owner holds the whole picture in their head. With fifteen or twenty, the roster becomes a fortnightly project: who is available, whose certificates are current, who is already on that sleepover, who asked for more hours. The software you choose either takes that weight off you or gives you a faster way to carry it.

If you are comparing Brevity and Astalty, this article is for you. We are BondiByte, so we are not neutral. Everything we say about Brevity and Astalty comes from their own public pages. We have added ourselves to the comparison because a growing provider should see three options side by side, and because the biggest difference between the three is one that neither Brevity nor Astalty describes on the pages we reviewed.

The short answer

  • Brevity: an organisation wide platform priced by client count, with rostering, invoicing, timesheets and NDIS bulk claims on its entry plan, and SIL and plan management modules on its Business plan.

  • BondiByte: a platform built around a roster that builds itself as a draft for your manager to review, with an Audit Centre, SIL, service agreements, invoicing and support coordination in one system, and every feature on every plan.

  • Astalty: an Australian-built platform with a dedicated support coordination workflow, simple per-user pricing, a 14-day free trial and a 3-month money-back guarantee.

Brevity: an organisation wide platform

Brevity describes itself as an organisation wide platform for NDIS providers and as an NDIS Digital Partner. Its entry plan, Lite, includes rostering and a mobile app, invoicing and timesheets, NDIS bulk claims and incident management. Brevity says form-builder tools and built-in reports are on all plans. A September 2026 Brevity article describes AI Recommendations that rank eligible workers for an unassigned shift, with the planner keeping the final say.

Prices are listed ex GST. Lite is $44.90 a month, or $4.49 per client a month, with a free trial (the length is not stated) and no setup fee. Business is $64.90 a month, or $6.49 per client a month, with a setup fee and no trial listed. Business adds group rostering and the SIL and plan management modules. Enterprise is price on application with a setup fee.

Where a growing provider may feel limits. Brevity's price follows your client count, so the bill rises as you add participants even if your team stays the same size. Group rostering and the SIL and plan management modules sit on the Business plan, which carries a setup fee. Brevity also serves aged care (HCP, CHSP and Support at Home), so check how much of its scope matches your service mix. And its AI Recommendations work on an unassigned shift, ranking people for one shift at a time.

BondiByte: the roster that builds itself as a draft

BondiByte is made by BondiByte Robotics Pty Ltd, an Australian company, and runs on Microsoft Azure with Australian data residency. It covers Smart Rostering, an Audit Centre, service agreements, invoices, timesheets, SIL homes, support coordination, and reports, forms and charts you build yourself. AI is optional: your organisation switches it on, and a person always reviews what it suggests.

Pricing and strengths. Every feature is on every plan, and for a team of 10 the Starter plan works out at about $9.90 per staff member a month, with a 28-day free trial. Its standout is Smart Rostering: a whole roster period drafted from your pattern, unsuitable staff blocked first, everyone else ranked with the reasons shown, and a draft for your manager to review before anything is published.

Astalty: simple pricing and a support coordination workflow

Astalty is Australian-built and offers a dedicated workflow for support coordinators. It says it is trusted by more than 1,400 NDIS businesses and that it is ISO 27001 accredited. Its pricing is GST inclusive: $64 per standard user and $30 per support worker a month, on one plan with two user types (enterprise plans on request). There is no minimum number of users, no lock-in, a 14-day free trial with no credit card, and a 3-month money-back guarantee.

For scheduling, Astalty says it matches workers to shifts automatically based on availability, skills and participant preferences, and shows the best-fit workers first.

Where a growing provider may feel limits. Every support worker carries a monthly charge, so the bill grows with headcount. Its scheduling is a match for a shift, and the page we reviewed does not describe building a whole roster period. On AI, Astalty says it is still researching and is not rushing to build anything it is not confident in.

The gap Brevity and Astalty share

Both products help match staff to shifts one shift at a time. Brevity ranks eligible workers for an unassigned shift. Astalty matches workers to a shift on availability, skills and participant preferences. Neither page describes building a whole roster period from a pattern, checking it against hard rules first, ranking people with reasons shown, and delivering the result as a draft to review before publishing.

That is a different job. Matching one shift helps when a shift is open. A growing provider does not have one open shift. It has a fortnight of them, across several sites, with leave, compliance dates and fair hours to balance. That whole-period job is what BondiByte Smart Rostering does.

Where BondiByte pulls ahead

Rosters built for you

Smart Rostering is switched on site by site. By default, shifts are created from your pattern about three weeks before the period, a draft roster is generated, a manager reviews it, and then publishes. Review before publish is the default. Auto-publish stays off unless you turn it on for a site.

Hard blocks come first. Critical conflicts are blocked outright: leave, inactive status, double-booking, blocked time and full shifts. Then five suitability checks run: availability, requirements, site team, hours cap and compliance. Expired evidence does not count. Whoever passes is ranked on eleven factors, including continuity, fatigue, a fair spread of hours, weekday and weekend balance, registered interest, preferred hours and recent cancellation history. Cost counts only if you choose the cost-aware setting. Every recommendation shows its reasons.

Audit readiness every day

The Audit Centre shows a live readiness score by domain, with evidence mapped to the NDIS Practice Standards (the Core Module plus supplementary modules). You can invite auditors with a limited scope, and keep samples, findings and corrective actions in the same place. Audit preparation becomes something you check weekly, not a scramble the month before.

Every feature on every plan

BondiByte does not gate features. Every plan has the same features, and staff numbers are an allowance, never a cap. Brevity places group rostering and its SIL and plan management modules on Business. Astalty also keeps to a single plan, which is a fair point in its favour on simplicity.

Built for SIL

SIL homes have primary, secondary and relief teams. A SIL house and a community roster can run different settings, so one provider can run both sensibly. Sleepover timesheets arrive as three components, which saves your payroll person from untangling them.

Service agreements and invoicing

Service agreements auto-fill more than 30 details, use NDIS catalogue line items, take e-signatures and lock the signed copy. Invoices are drafted from rostered shifts and go out as PDF and email, with a bulk payment request CSV in the NDIS layout. BondiByte prepares claim-ready data; it does not lodge claims with the NDIA directly. Timesheets are drafted from the roster, staff submit them, managers approve them, pay levels apply, and a Xero Payroll connection plus MYOB-ready and Employment Hero-ready exports are included.

Support coordination in the same system

Support Coordination covers caseloads, billable case notes, plan budgets and burn, goals, tasks, referrals and reports. If you run supports and coordination under one roof, they share one system and one set of records.

AI a person always reviews

AI in BondiByte is optional. Your organisation switches it on, and a person always reviews the result. Smart Rostering never publishes on its own unless you turn auto-publish on for a site.

Side by side

Feature

BondiByte

Brevity

Astalty

Matching staff to a shift

Yes, with reasons shown

AI Recommendations rank eligible workers; planner has the final say

Matches on availability, skills and participant preferences; best-fit first

Whole roster built from a pattern, as a draft

Yes, Smart Rostering

Not described on the pages we reviewed

Not described on the pages we reviewed

Hard rules checked before ranking

Yes

Ask the vendor

Ask the vendor

Review before publish

Default, auto-publish off unless enabled per site

Planner has the final say on recommendations

Ask the vendor

Audit readiness tools

Audit Centre with live score and evidence mapping

Incident management on Lite

Ask the vendor

SIL

Primary, secondary and relief teams; sleepover timesheets

SIL module on Business

Ask the vendor

Support coordination

Caseloads, case notes, plan budgets, goals, referrals

Ask the vendor

Dedicated workflow

Claims

Bulk payment request CSV in the NDIS layout

NDIS bulk claims included

Ask the vendor

Features by plan

Every feature on every plan

Business adds group rostering, SIL and plan management

One plan, two user types

Pricing basis

Per staff member

Per client

Per user type

Free trial

28 days

Lite: length not stated; Business: none listed

14 days, no credit card

AI

Optional; a person always reviews

AI Recommendations; planner decides

Still researching

Hosting and security

Microsoft Azure, Australian data residency

Ask the vendor

States ISO 27001 accredited

What it costs for a team of 10

Pricing models differ, so a fair comparison needs assumptions. These are examples, not quotes.

  • Brevity: the cost depends on your client count, not your staff. For example, 20 clients on Lite is about $89.80 a month ex GST. The same 20 clients on Business is about $129.80 a month ex GST, plus a setup fee.

  • BondiByte: for a team of 10, the Starter plan works out at about $9.90 per staff member a month, with every feature included. Tax treatment is confirmed at onboarding.

  • Astalty: 10 support workers and 1 standard user comes to $364 a month GST inclusive, or about $331 ex GST.

We are not saying any one of these is the cheapest for you. Brevity's cost moves with clients, while BondiByte's and Astalty's move with staff, so the right answer depends on whether you have more participants or more people on your team. Compare features per dollar, not just dollars.

Which should you choose?

  • Choose BondiByte if rostering is where your hours go. It suits providers who want a whole roster period built as a draft with reasons shown, run SIL homes next to community work, want audit readiness visible every day, and want service agreements, invoicing, timesheets and support coordination in one system with every feature on every plan.

  • Choose Brevity if you want pricing tied to client count, NDIS bulk claims on the entry plan, and you also serve or plan to serve aged care.

  • Choose Astalty if a dedicated support coordination workflow is central, you value one plan with no lock-in and a 3-month money-back guarantee, and ISO 27001 accreditation matters to your decision-makers.

See it for yourself

The quickest way to judge a rostering claim is to watch it work. Watch the Smart Rostering video on this page to see a roster build itself. Then start the 28-day free trial and run it against your own pattern, sites and staff. If you are also trialling Brevity or Astalty, give all three the same fortnight and see which one leaves you with less to fix.

How we compared

We checked the public pages of Brevity and Astalty on 15 October 2026. Prices and features change, so confirm current details with each vendor before you decide. Details about BondiByte come from bondibyterobotics.com.au. Where this article says a feature is not described, it means we did not find it on the pages we reviewed, and you should ask the vendor.

Start 28 days Free Trial Book a demo

See BondiByte on your own operations

Book a demo and we'll walk through the workflow that fits your provider.

Start free trial